Visual Resources Librarian - Images, Art, Architecture, Urbanism
ARTH 122: Art History Survey, Renaissance - Present: Keefer
Research Appointments
- Book an appointment with Dr. KeeferMeeting times are in 1/2 hour increments.
Recommended Resources
- ARTstorThis image collection is made of images from museums, archives, libraries. To view the university teaching collections, search "All Collections" in the image tab.
- University of Richmond Collections on JSTORThe university JSTOR collections include the Ancient World Gallery, images collections we license, teaching images, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to fine, decorative and commercial art; architecture; and architectural design. (EBSCO)
- A&A ePortal This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. (Yale University Press)
- EAI Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
Access a comprehensive video art collection from the mid-1960s to the present. EAI is a nonprofit arts organization that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution, and preservation of video art and digital art projects. (EAI)
- Projectr EDU This link opens in a new windowStream independent, foreign, and documentary films from a variety of distributors. (Projectr EDU)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of digital images sourced from museums, galleries, contemporary artists, and private collections. (Bridgeman Education)
- The [Oxford] Concise Dictionary to Art TermsBaroque to postmodernism, batik to mezzotint, and canvas to porcelain, this dictionary provides succinct and accessible explanations of over 1900 terms used in the wide variety of visual media that make up the art world.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Search an archive images and descriptive data of medieval art from late Antiquity to the sixteenth century. (Princeton)
Art Museums with Searchable Online Collections
Some museums have images that are large enough to capture for use in presentation tools such as PowerPoint. Others have images which are large enough only for reference. Check the JSTOR collections for large museum images to use in presentations and papers. Below is merely a selected list of museums with images on-line.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art - Full-text Catalogues NOTE: Not all of the texts will have all images due to copyright restrictions.
- Musée du Louvre You can perform a simple search, advanced search, search by room, department and recent acquisitions. Knowledge of French is most useful for getting the most out of this database.
- National Portrait Gallery, London, UK The UK National Portrait Gallery now provides free image downloads for academic and non-commercial use. See their website for more information.
- NGA (U.S.) Images - High Resolution Downloads More than 25,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
- Rijksmuseum Collection The Rijksmuseum is offering its entire collection free to the public to use, to manipulate, and to create new work.
- Uffizi Gallery, Florence This site is busy, but you can get basic information about works, where they are located in the museum, and small images.
Library Tutotials
- Library TutorialsTutorials include: Scholarship as Conversation, Citing Sources, Using Base Library Search Tools, Peer Reviewed Sources, Authority, Plagiarism, Evaluating Sources, Zotero and Subject-based Research