Humanities Librarian
Carol Wittig
Contact:
Rm. 119 Refectory (**during Boatwright Library renovation May 2025-August 2026**)
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
804.289.8459
Website
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, Copyright & Fair Use, E-Books, English & Literature, Faculty Resources, French, German, Getting Started with Library Research, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Leadership Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, News Sources, OneBooks, Open Access & Faculty Scholarship, OSHER, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
RHCS 350: Rhetoric in a Globalized World
Researching Rhetorics of US Internationalism--Articles and Primary Sources
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
-
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks, journal articles, policy briefs, reports, and case studies on topics related to international politics and policy. The content is written by scholars, research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and think-tanks. (Columbia University Press)
-
American Presidency ProjectOnline archive of various documents, speeches, proclamations, executive orders of all the American Presidents.
-
UVA: Miller CenterThe Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history and civil discourse to the nation's most pressing contemporary governance challenges.
-
Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for Congressional hearings, reports, testimony, bills, laws, and regulations from the first Congress to the current Congress. (ProQuest)
-
Federal Digital System (FDSys)Updated government archive of the major congressional and executive branch documents.
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowGood way to find clips from newsreels and nightly news programs.
-
Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from legal journals and law reviews. Government documents from each branch are also available in this database. (HeinOnline)
-
Cold War Intelligence: The Secret War Between the U.S. and the USSR, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new windowAccess this database to find formerly classified documents (most at Top Secret level) that showcase the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War. (Brill)
-
National Security ArchiveNon-governmental investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents based at GWU.
-
Vital Speeches of the DayCollection of the most important speeches during the time, covering 1934 to present.
-
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the National Geographic Magazine from 1888-present. (Gale)
-
ISBN: 9781414486024
US and the World--Historical Background and Maps
-
-
American Decades Primary Sources
by
ISBN: 1414486022Publication Date: 2013-06-15American Decades: Primary Sources cover 1900-1999. -
-
American Decades Primary Sources
by
ISBN: 1414486022Publication Date: 2013-06-15American Decades: Primary Sources, 2000-2009 covers the first decade of the twenty-first century.
-
CIA CartographyDeclassified CIA maps arranged by decade.
