Resources for music research and for finding materials in Parsons Music Library
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013
Music Online: Listening PLUS
Includes audio (American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound), video (Classical Music in Video, Opera in Video, Dance in Video), scores (Classical Scores Library), and reference (Garland Encyclopedia of World Music).
Recordings from significant independent record labels
Video of classical concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, etc. Includes live performances.
Grove Music Online
Most authoritative English-language source of information on music
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Comprehensive online resource devoted to the music of all the world's peoples.
All Music Guide
An enormous site that includes biographies and discographies of musicians in all genres.
International Index to Music Periodicals
Indexes scholarly and popular music journals, many with access to full-text
RILM Abstracts of Music
Indexes scholarly writing on music, with some links to full-text
RIPM (Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals)
Indexes 184 European and North American music periodicals (1791-1962); some full text
Archive of scholarly journal literature
Indexes more than 475 scholarly and popular music journals; limited full-text
Music industry news and a variety of trade directories
Rock's Back Pages
Archive of rock and pop music journalism, from both mainstream publications and niche magazines.
Academic Charts Online
Over 60 years of international chart data for popular music recordings.
UR Library Catalog WorldCat
Catalog of books and other resources in libraries worldwide