Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Class Syllabus
- Arab Revolutions 2011Syllabus for the class, including description of assignments and calendar of readings.
Country Information
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Access reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- Countries & Their CulturesProvides excellent overviews of a country's culture describing the same categories for every country in the world.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
- Country StudiesIn-depth analysis of of the historical, social, political and governmental institutions and systems of countries throughout the world.
- Portals of the WorldLinks to information on every country in the world developed by the Library of Congress.
Middle Eastern News Resources
- Al Jazeera English - AJEThe major news source for the Middle East region, includes video, articles and opinion pieces.
- Al-Ahram Weekly - EnglishEgyptian news source covering national and regional events, including essays and opinion pieces.
- Al-Masry Al-Youm English EditionEgyptian news source focusing primarily on national news and events, includes economic news, opinion pieces, videos and citizen journalism.
- JadaliyyaMiddle East news source written in English, including essays on Middle Eastern culture(s), interviews, photographs and reports.
- BBC News - Middle EastBritish Broadcasting service coverage of news in the Middle East, including articles, videos, special reports and country profiles.
Analysis of Revolution in the Middle East
- The Middle East ChannelCoverage of the Middle East by Foreign Policy Magazine, NAF Middle East Task Force and the Project on Middle East Political Science.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
Carol Wittig
Contact:
Rm. 119 Refectory (**during Boatwright Library renovation May 2025-August 2026**)
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
804.289.8459
Website