Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
RHCS 340: Communication & Culture
Philosophy Resources
- UR Library CatalogLocate introductory and research level resources on your topic
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to all major fields of philosophy. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
Cultural & Communication Research Resources
- UR Library CatalogLocate introductory and research level resources on your topic
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
Recommended Journals
- Communication & Critical/Cultural StudiesNewer journal focused on the social, cultural and political aspects of communication. Also includes articles on communication theory & research.
Covers 2004 - present. - Quarterly Journal of SpeechThis journal concentrates on the theoretical side of rhetoric, focusing on writings, public discourse and culture that influences societal beliefs and actions.
Covers 1928 - to 1 year ago. - Critical Studies in Media CommunicationArticles cover cultural perspectives and critiques of media and mass communication.
Covers 2000 - present. - Rhetoric & Public AffairsThis journal focuses on theories and critiques of current and historical public discourse.
Covers 1998 - present.
Rhetoric Focused Reference Books
Encyclopedia of rhetoric by Call Number: PN172 .E52 2001Overview of rhetorical concepts and style from ancient to contemporary periods.
Sourcebook on rhetoric : key concepts in contemporary rhetorical studies by Call Number: PN172 .J37 2001Provides excellent description of epideictic discourse, its structure and purpose.
