Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

History 321 History of Work in Europe (Watts) : Home

This course guide provides research assistance for Dr. Watts' course, The History of Work in Europe.

Tips for Beginning Your Research in History

1.  History research should begin at the library website and follow the links to the Subject/Course Guides under Finding Information for course guides like this one.  You can access other subject areas, e.g., Art, Anthropology, Literature, Political Science, Women studies etc, when appropriate to your research.  

2.   Catalogs, like the UR Library Catalog and WorldCat, are useful for finding books, primary sources, bibliographies, and reference works.  To find journal or newspaper articles you will need to use online indexes and fulltext databases.  WorldCat is a source for materials not available in the University of Richmond libraries for Interlibrary Loan.
3.
   A good book or journal article can be a bridge to more research sources if it has footnotes or a bibliography.  Even books and articles in languages you do not read may list sources in languages you do read.    

4.  Where available, use browse features of databases to discover subject headings used, because the same topic may have been assigned different subject headings over time. 

5.   Keep in mind that many useful resources, and not just primary sources, are print works, and not electronic or Internet resources.  The Subject/Course Guides library web page, focus primarily on electronic resources.  The UR Library Catalog and WorldCat are your best sources for books.

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to help you identify and obtain library research materials on Dr. Watts' class History 321: History of Work in Europe

Please use the tabs above to learn about different types of resources and contact me if you need assistance.

Quick Introduction to OneSearch

Finding Materials in Boatwright Library

OneSearch on the library homepage is a good way to start your research.  After entering a search term, you will see results that include articles, books, electronic books and resources, and newspaper articles.  Options on the left side will help you refine your results via several different parameters, including type, subject, location, and date.  However, you might want to try other, more specific, search options as well. 

To search for books that are available here in Boatwright, use the Library Catalog tab and narrow to “Books & More” or “Campus Libraries,” where you can also focus on a specific UR library.  Start with a keyword search or "all words" using terms such as tobacco or tobacco history. When you have found one or two relevant books, examine their subjects headings to help guide further searching. You can also add descriptive terms such as "politics and government" or "newspapers" for more specific searching.  If you need help understanding call numbers, this video will help!

To search for journal articles, use the "Articles" tab on the library homepage.  The default search includes scholarly articles in English, and you can use the filters on the left side of the page to help refine the search results by type, date, language, etc.

If you are looking for information on a person, you should first use that person's name in a keyword search.  However, many books will have information on persons that is not evident from the information in the catalog.  To find these books, you should use the browsing guide on the left and scan the tables of contents and indexes of books in the appropriate call number area.

If you are looking for Primary Sources, try including the word "source" or "sources" in your keyword or subject search to so search fo printed/published primary sources. Digitized archival materials and primary sources are available through a number of databases; see the relevant Course Guide tab for suggested relevant databases.  

Avoid Plagiarism

Think Like A Historian

Head, Rare Books & Special Collections; History Librarian

Profile Photo
Lynda Kachurek
she/her
Contact:
Boatwright Library

804-289-8458
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.