LibGuides: FYS 100 (19): Vampires: Getting Started

Encyclopedias

Articles in encyclopedias, especially scholarly subject encyclopedias, can be very helpful in establishing basic information about a person, place, event, or theory and they often have bibliographies that list additional resources worth consulting.

eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Full-text; 1990s - present
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Core collection of titles from the Oxford series of reference books
Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.; Full-text; Varies by title, 2002 - present
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. Specially commissioned essays enhance the content of over 500 Companions titles, covering literature, philosophy, classics, religion, cultural studies and music.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Intelligent and serious introductions written by authors who are experts in their field.
Full-text; 2000 - Present; access limited to 5 simultaneous users

LibGuides Menu

Library Catalog

OneSearch
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.

Basic Library Tools

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present

Google Scholar
Provides the ability to perform a broad search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Interlibrary loan