Things to Remember
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Basic Library Tools
- Books and MoreFind books, atlases and maps in the library's collection.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- Journal TitlesList of journal TITLES -- if we subscribe to it, how to access it (in print or online), and what years are available.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowLook up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
Finding Information on Literary Authors, Movements, and Works in Special Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Glossary of Poetic TermsFrom the Poetry Foundation website.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by ISBN: 0691133344Publication Date: 2012-08-26Covers history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more.
The Cambridge Companion to American Poets by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 9781107560789Publication Date: 2015-10-14
The Cambridge Companion to Modern American Poetry by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 9781107040366Publication Date: 2015-01-19
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story by Call Number: Basement Level 2 (B2) ; PS374.S5 C57 2000ISBN: 0231110987Publication Date: 2001-03-08Available in both print and digital copies.
The Cambridge Companion to the American Short Story by ISBN: 9781009292818Publication Date: 2023-05-25This Companion offers students and scholars a comprehensive introduction to the development and the diversity of the American short story as a literary form from its origins in the eighteenth century to the present day.
The Cambridge Companion to World Literature by ISBN: 9781108613354Publication Date: 2018-11-09The Cambridge Companion to World Literature introduces the significant ideas and practices of world literary studies.
The Cambridge Companion to Modernism by ISBN: 0521495164Publication Date: 1999-02-11Chapters on the major literary genres, intellectual, political and institutional contexts, film and the visual arts, provide both close analyses of individual works and a broader set of interpretive narratives
Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
