Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS 100 (30): Narratives of Identity and Relationship: Starting Points

Library Tutorila

Finding Books and Videos in the Library Catalog

How do I use the library catalog?

There are several paths:

  1. Select the “Books and More” tab on the search box on the libraries main page.

         2. There is also a “Books and More” link under Quick Links.

         3. If you are already engaged in OneSearch, you can choose  Books, Audio, or Video from the Item Type dropdown  box beneath the search box.

How do I limit my search in OneSearch to a particular format like films or sound recordings?

Go to Advanced Search, and use the Material Type pull-down.

How do I refine my search in OneSearch?

After completing a search, use the options on the left-side. You can refine by a number of options, such as Full Text Online, Available in Library, Author/Creator, Subject/Topic, Resource Type, and more.

Encyclopedias

Articles in encyclopedias, especially scholarly subject encyclopedias, can be very helpful in establishing basic information about a person, place, event, or theory and they often have bibliographies that list additional resources worth consulting.

Basic Library Tools

Clicking on the title of a book from the list of results  displays the details about the title, it location, its availability, the subject headings assigned to it, and often its contents.

Depending on the type of material,  you may need to use the location and call number information to find the material on the shelf in the library, or, if it is an online resource, click on the link to the full text.

You also have options to email, save to a citation database format, or add to a list of saved titles in in your account (you'll have to sign in to do this). Simply click on the available links.

Further information on choosing databases in Ebscohost and doing combined searches can be found on this guide: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=75

Further information on searching Academic Search Complete and other Ebscohost databases can be found on this Help page:

http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=67
 

Finding Books in Boatwright Library

To search for books in Boatwright, use the Books and More search. . When dealing with a topic that can be used in many fields it is best to add a second word that describes your area of interest.  for example, "identity" and "fiction".  Start with a keyword search and when you have found one or two relevant books, examine their subjects headings to help guide further searching, or use terms from the table of subject headings to the left.  Remember that books are generally on broad topics and that you are not searching the full text of print books, only the titles, subject headings, and--if you're lucky--the table of contents.

I

LibGuides Menu

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.