It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 journals/periodicals
Directory listings; Updated with revisions weekly; Directory information includes a notation as to journal type. This is an excellent resource to use to find out if a journal is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.
Access to 1.4 billion items in libraries worldwide. You can search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby; find books, music, and videos to check out; link to "Ask a Librarian" and other services at your library.
Library Catalog. Start with a keyword search or "all words." Since some of the most common words you might search for aren't actually in the subject headings -- use terms from the subject headings if have trouble locating books. If you are looking for information on a person, you should first use that person's name in a keyword search.
Many books will have information that is not evident from the information in the catalog. To find these books, you should scan the tables of contents and indexes of books in the appropriate call number area. You can search by book Title, Author, All fields or Subject.
Use OneSearchto locate microhistories -- microhistory and "subject of interest" or microhistory and "place or time period"
To expand your search to books in libraries worldwide, often available through Inter-Library Loan from other libraries, use WorldCat.
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Journalism, SPCS Core and Liberal Arts
FYS and SPCS KM Instructor
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173