Home - FYS 100 (53) - Human Trafficking: Myth or Scourge (Spires)

Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)

United Nations (UN)
Website provides documents, reports and activities on a wide variety of world issues including security, terrorism, human rights, economic development, social development, and international law.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
International organization focusing on international trade and trade-related treaties.
International Organization for Migration (IOM)
Focuses on migration trends throughout the world and supports humane treatment of migrants, includes information on countries, diasporas, policy issues, etc.
International Criminal Court (ICC)
An international court tribunal established in 2002 focusing on prosecution of genocide, crimes against humanities and war crimes. This is an independent organization with membership of 121 countries.

What is a Database?/Teach a Database

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal literature
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles, papers and books relating to political science
Full-text; Major resource for scholarly research relating to political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics and non-governmental organizations.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Intelligent and serious introductions written by authors who are experts in their field.
Full-text; 2000 - Present; access limited to 5 simultaneous users

Top Resources

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Reports, journal articles, and other key information on drug and justice-related topics published by the U.S. Office of Justice Programs.
FBI - Uniform Crime Reports
Statistics and information on crime in the United States.

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles, papers and books relating to political science
Full-text; Major resource for scholarly research relating to political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics and non-governmental organizations.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text of major newspapers with separate resources for environment, government, statistics, and legal information
Online access to current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world. Full-text of legal materials (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Congressional information back to 1789.; Full-text; Varies by title; 1980 - present
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Index of law journals
Current issues, legal studies, scholarly arguments, and trends of the legal world.; Abstracts with some full-text
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present