It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FYS 100 (29) War Reporting: The American Experience (Hodierne): Home
Library Guide for Professor Hodierne's Fall 2020 FYS
Library Research ~ Primary Sources for Journalism History
This library session was recorded on 8-27-20 and is for the History of Journalism and FYS: War Reporting classes of Professor Hodierne. I cover the resources on this Research Guide for historical research on war battles, journalism coverage, and topics related to these classes. Three primary source collections are explained: Accessible Archives, Early American Newspapers, and 19th century Newspapers in the Gale Primary Sources Collection.
Access your video from within your Blackboard Class:
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Photos and images from The Associated Press and its partner companies.
Excellent resource for illustrations, copyright free for educational use. Can search by concept (hostages) as well as specific people or events (Einstein).; Photographs, prints, graphics, audio and text; Coverage back to the 1800s, primary coverage late 20th century-present
Includes a wide range of documentaries (like those from The History Channel), newsreels including the complete series of both Universal News and United Newsreel and other contemporaneous films.
The technical features make it easy to zoom in on exact moments of footage, make clips, create playlists (of clips by theme, entire films, and anything else anywhere on the web) and share them with a class, for example. There are synchronized scrolling transcripts for every video (and those are searchable, too).; Streaming video; 1900 - 2009
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Journalism, SPCS Core and Liberal Arts
FYS and SPCS KM Instructor
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173