It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding information about a subject may require that you first browse general encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other resources to find out background information -- the who, what, where, when aspect of your topic. Once you know a little bit, you can then move to subject-specific books and journal resources to find more detailed research material. Remember to always use bibliographies for additional resources.
From Brill: The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World and reflects the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Over 4,500 articles, 150 primary source documents, and two Qur'an translations in English, including a concordance.
Full-text; Extensive resources for study and understanding; of the Islamic world. Articles from Oxford works including The Oxford Encyclopedia; of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The; Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford; Dictionary of Islam, and more. Two translations of the Qur'an published in the; Oxford World's Classics series and an electronic version of Hanna Kassis's A; Concordance of the Qur'an.
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Journalism, SPCS Core and Liberal Arts
FYS and SPCS KM Instructor
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173