Getting Started - FYS 100 Spring 2022 -Calvillo - Friendship, Collaboration and Conviviality

Boatwright Research Guides for Help:

Background Resources

Oxford Scholarship: Religion
Electronic books of original, peer-reviewed scholarship in all areas of religion and theology.

Full-text; 1963 - present; In addition to major recent titles, the collection also includes classic works of enduring influence.
Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed.)
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as an experience from culture to culture.

Full-text; 2005
Grove Art Online
Articles on every aspect of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present.

Content expanded from print sources of Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference. Originally published in 1996 and updated quarterly.

Italian Renaissance Learning Resources

Exhibition Reviews

Search tip: "exhibition review" and keywords.

Recommended journals:

Burlington Magazine

Finding Information:

Books and More (Library Catalog)
This is where you will go to locate books, documents, and audio-visual materials owned by the libraries at the University of Richmond.
Interlibrary Loan
Use our interlibrary loan service to request books and articles not available at UR.
Journal Titles
List of journal TITLES -- if we subscribe to it, how to access it (in print or online), and what years are available.

Recommended Journal Resources:

Art & Architecture Source
A research database for the study of art and architecture.

Contains complete indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications, and books, including some full-text coverage and an image collection provided by Picture Desk and others. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.
Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text; Earliest indexing goes back to 1914; earliest full text back to 1930; most coverage begins in 1980s
ATLA Religion Database
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with an online collection of major religion and theology journals.

Citations, abstracts, and full-text (1949 - present); 1924 - present
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexes journals in the general humanities.

Citations and abstracts; 1907-1984
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journal literature

Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Project Muse
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics

Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Religion & Philosophy Collection
A broad selection of scholarly publications in religion and philosophy

Extensive coverage of topics including world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; 1975 - present