Getting the Full Text of Articles
If the full-text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, look for a "Locate it" button, which will link you to either the journal in which the article is published or to the article itself.
If there is no button, use the Journal Titles tab in the red search box at the top of the main library web page to search for the title of the journal, or use the link below. If we have a subscription, you will learn what years are available and in what database. Some or all years of a journal may be available only in physical form in the periodicals collection on B2.
For other journals we may have limited access, for example, not the most recent issues or not the earliest published issues. If we do not have access to the issue you need, use ILLiad.
Browsing the stacks
Call Number Guide for Browsing
DG 75--DG 190 General Roman History
HQ 13 Sex in Ancient World
HV 6250 Gender and Violence
Subject Headings
Women-- Rome
Women--Roman Law
Women--Rome--Social conditions
Rome--Social Life and Customs
Rome--Civilization
Social Structure--Rome
Rome--Social Conditions
Sex Customs --Rome--History
Sources of Journal Articles
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities.
-
Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowBroadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowA research database for the study of art and architecture.
-
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBiographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowIndex of core disciplines in women's studies
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy
-
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature in the fields of Greek and Roman civilization, Latin linguistics, archaeology, history, mythology, religion, philosophy and palaeography.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics This link opens in a new windowProvides thorough overviews of specialized topics within the field of classical studies, complete with links and annotations to key literature.
Humanities Librarian
.jpg)
Finding Books in Boatwright Library
To search for books in Boatwright, use the Books and More tab on Onesearch. When dealing with classical Greece or Rome, it is often useful to add the word "history" or "ancient" or "classical" to any search. Start with a keyword search and, when you have found one or two relevant books, examine their subjects headings to help guide further searching, or use terms from the table of subject headings to the left. You can also use descriptive terms such as "marriage," "divorce," "rights," "gender identity," "sex role," or "legal status."
Take advantage of any relevant bibliographies in books or articles to skim not only for useful sources, but for search terms that can get you closer to your real subject of interest. Think broadly; sources on the family or the Roman household will have pages or chapters on the place held by women in those social institutions.
