Examples of MLA Citations
- Library Guide for MLA 9 from UWFVery helpful summary and examples.
- Guide to MLA StyleFrom the Writer's Web.
Zotero
ZoteroBib Zotero's quick cite tool.
Zotero is a free citation management tool that can automatically import citations into your personal account, organize sources into folders, and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. It also includes a word processor plugin for formatting footnotes and parenthetical citations.
Visit www.zotero.org to download the Zotero Firefox extension and to learn more about Zotero.
Using Zotero
Zotero is a citation management tool that allows you to keep all of your citations in one place and cite them automatically in any style you prefer!
Getting Started:
USING ZOTERO
Step 1. Download Zotero & install the browser plug-in.
- Visit www.zotero.org and click on the DOWNLOAD NOW link.
- Desktop/Laptop: Download free-standing software for Windows, Mac OS, or Linux. Once you have installed the software, also download a connector for your browser (Firefox, Chrome, or Safari).
- Browser Plug-in: Zotero Plug-in's are called "Connectors" Zotero Connectors automatically sense content as you browse the web and allow you to save it to Zotero with a single click. You'll know you have successfully installed the Zotero connector/plug-in when you see Zotero icons appear in the top right-hand corner of the browser window. Remember that to use Zotero, you need to have the Zotero software up and running while you are searching in your browser.
Step 2. Open up the Zotero software, and then switch to a web browser.
- While searching, if you wish to grab citation information for something on the screen, look for icons at the right end of the address bar. If Zotero recognizes a single citation it displays an article (piece of paper) or book icon; if Zotero sees a list of citations, you will see a folder icon.
- If you see one of these icons, click on it. If you click on a folder icon, you will have to select from a list. A message will briefly flash in the bottom right-hand corner telling you the citation was saved to Zotero.
For more information on how to create citations and bibliographies and how to add Zotero to Word or Google Docs. Please see the attached Quick Guide.
Chicago/Turabian Quick Citing Examples
-
Turabian Quick Guide - Overview of basic examples from Univ. of Chicago Press website for Turabian 8th edition. Turabian is essentially the same as Chicago, with minor modifications to meet student writing needs.
* * * *
There are 2 styles to choose from when using Chicago -- you need to ask your professor which style they would like you to use. The main differences between the styles are where the references are placed, where the dates are placed, and how the titles are capitalized.
1. Notes/Bibliography - Humanities: numbered footnotes or endnotes at the bottom of each page, with Bibliography or Works Cited list at the end of the paper, listing alphabetically the sources in your notes. Your professor may not require that you include a separate Works Cited list if all of the information is included in your footnotes -- but you may be asked to provide a bibliography of all sources consulted.
2. Reference List/Parenthetical (in-text citations) - Author/Date: in your text, brief references are listed consisting of the author's last name, publication year, and page(s) referred to, with an alphabetized Reference List at the end of your paper. The reference list at the end of your paper provides complete entries for works cited in parenthetical references.
APA (American Psychological Association) Style Guides
This guide provides a brief overview of the APA Manual.
Proper Paraphrasing
- Using ParaphrasesFrom the UR Writer's Web
- How to paraphraseThis page from Mary Baldwin University has a series of useful examples of correct and incorrect paraphrases of a single original sentence.
UR Online Resources
- University of Richmond Honor Council & the UR Honor Code
The UR Honor Council maintains the University's Honor Code used in order to maintain high standards of academic integrity. This website provides information on the Honor Code Pledge students are required to acknowledge for assignments.
- The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Resources for all things writing and citing in APA and MLA.
- Writing Center - The University of Richmond
The Writing Center provides experienced tutors who offer friendly critiques for written work in any major.
- Writer's Web - The University of Richmond - Writing Center
Writer's Web is a free, public-access handbook that covers help and information for all stages of the writing process.
Online Tutorials from Linked-in Learning
With more than 1,300 courses taught by industry experts—and more added every week—lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever you’re ready to learn. You can even view the resources on your iOS or Android mobile device (via web site or mobile apps).
Current faculty, students, and staff have access to a University subscription of lynda.com resources. Please click the Access Linked in Learning link. You will then get a UR login page for lynda.com — use your UR NetID and 16-character password before being redirected to lynda.com's web site.
Sample topics: Writing a Research Paper; Excel 2019 Essential Training; Word 2016 Essential Training; Improving Your Memory; Photoshop CC 2017 One-on-One: Fundamentals; Time Management Fundamentals; Programming Foundations: Fundamentals
Citing Images
The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.
- Citing Images - GeneralThis site has a great set of example of how to cite images in your papers.
- Citing ARTstor ImagesThis page will give you instructions on how to save and export citations for ARTstor images you use.
