Library Tutorials
If We Don't Have it
If we don't have the journal you need, you can borrow it through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
How to place a request:
- Check OneSearch to see if the library already owns the item.
- If not, Login to ILLiad using your UR netid and password or create an account if this is your first request.
- Select either Article Request, Book Request, or Book chapter request for interlbrary Loan
- Enter the information about the item
- Click Submit Request
- To request another item, click your browser's back button and change the item information
Richmond, VA - Books
-
Confederate Symbols in the Contemporary South by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 0813023866Publication Date: 2000-01-01 -
Designing Dixie: Tourism, Memory, and Urban Space in the New South by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 9780813936710Publication Date: 2014-12-29 -
The Dream Is Lost : voting rights and the politics of race in Richmond, Virginia by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 9780813169972Publication Date: 2017The Dream Is Lost' describes more than three decades of national/local racial politics and the unintended consequences of the civil rights movement. It uses the mid-twentieth-century urban history of Richmond, Virginia, to explain the political abuses that often accompanied American electoral reforms. -
-
Race, Class and Power in the Building of Richmond, 1870-1920 by Call Number: F234.R557 H64 2004ISBN: 0786416165Publication Date: 2004-05-03 -
The Richmond Slave Trade by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Levels E445.V8 T73 2012ISBN: 9781609494131Publication Date: 2012-03-04 -
Slaves Waiting for Sale by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 0226559327Publication Date: 2011-12-01This innovative book uses Crowe's paintings to explore the texture of the slave trade in Richmond, Charleston, and New Orleans, the evolving iconography of abolitionist art, and the role of visual culture in the transatlantic world of abolitionism.
Library Databases for National and Richmond Area History, Issues and Topics
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowA discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.
-
Finding BooksSelect the “Books and More” tab on the search box on the libraries main page.
There is also a “Books and More” link under Quick Links.
If you are already engaged in OneSearch, you can choose Books, Audio, or Video from the Item Type dropdown box beneath the search box.
.
The top group of databases will help you find material on national and international approaches to social issues, but will not have much specifically on Richmond. For those resources, scroll down to the lower portion of this box.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
-
Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to journal articles and book reviews for United States and Canada history.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports and background information on major current topics and policy issues.
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowBroad and current coverage of scholarly research and information related to all levels and areas of education.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly health care literature, particularly nursing and allied health, including the the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
-
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowResource covering national & international newspapers
-
Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
-
Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowCovers all public policy issues, drawing its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank.
-
Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowBroadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowInternational index of journal articles, dissertations, books, book chapters and conference papers on sociology and related topics in social and behavioral sciences. [User Guide]
-
Google ScholarGood for searching across disciplines, but you may have to use OneSearch to access specific articles.
**************************************************************************************************************************************
The databases and other resources below this line are focused on local news and issues.
***************************************************************************************************************************************
-
Good Morning, RVADaily newsletter on local public policy be a community organizer. He keeps track of many events and documents of interest.
-
Richmond MagazineLocal life style magazine.
-
Virginia MercuryAn independent, nonprofit online news organization covering state government and policy
-
Collegian Archive This link opens in a new windowThe University's student newspaper that has been in publication since 1914.
-
Richmond Times-Dispatch (Newsbank) (1903-present) This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive city, regional and state news, primarily for Richmond, Virginia, from 1903 to present.
-
Style WeeklyLocal news and features, entertainment and cultural calendars, restaurant listings, reviews, menu guides, classifieds, and personals.
.jpg)
