LibGuides: HEALTH STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE: Databases

Library databases in public health

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports and background information on major current topics and policy issues.

Covering such topics as: social programs, health, social trends, criminal justice, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and background information are included in each report.; Full-text reports; charts; 1923 - present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text of major newspapers with separate resources for environment, government, statistics, and legal information

Online access to current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world. Full-text of legal materials (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Congressional information back to 1789.; Full-text; Varies by title; 1980 - present
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Major index of research on national and international public policies.

Abstracts; 1972 - current; Includes academic resources as well as government reports and think tank documents.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all public policy issues, drawing its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank.

Citations and abstracts; 1990 - present
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles, papers and books relating to political science

Full-text; Major resource for scholarly research relating to political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics and non-governmental organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and other research literature in psychology and related disciplines

International index to journal articles, book chapters and books, dissertations and technical reports related to all areas of psychology and related disciplines.; Citations, abstracts, and some linked full-text; 1806 - present; very few records prior to 1890
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal articles in the social sciences

Comprehensive citation index to peer reviewed scholarly journals in 50 social sciences disciplines.; Citations and abstracts; 1976 - present; Excellent coverage of articles' cited references and times cited.
Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors

Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Repository of scholarly papers and abstracts in the social sciences

Repository of working papers and submitted abstracts intended for early distribution of research results in social science disciplines.; Abstracts with some full-text; Varies; Most of the full-text papers can be downloaded for free. Those with $ signs should be checked for availability in Journal Locator.

Library databases in the health sciences

Use online databases to locate citations to journal articles, book chapters, books, and more. Most online databases provide abstracts but many will also link you to the full-text material. Use Journal Titles to determine which journal titles you may access at UR.

Medline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to biomedical literature

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Also encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry.; Citations and abstracts; 1946 - present
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews prepared annually providing an overview of primary research material within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Electronic access to the reviews with links into Medline and Web of Knowledge from the bibliographies; Full-text: 1996 - present; Table of Contents: 1986-1995
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal literature

Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Citation and keyword index to scholarly journals in the liberal arts & sciences

Comprehensive citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage. The database covers approximately 160 disciplines ranging from Agriculture to Zoology.; Citations and abstracts; 1976 - present; Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index Expanded.

MedlinePlus
The consumer health subset of Medline.

Locating articles through Journal Titles

The library's Journal Titles helps you to:

identify which journal titles are available at UR
identify which titles are in print or can be accessed as e-journals
access the e-journals through UR subscription links *
connect to the catalog to find "holdings" information for print titles (which volumes/years that UR owns)
find UR journals by subject

* Most UR subscriptions must be accessed through the Journal Titles links and not by going directly to the journal's website. Most subscriptions are also verified by IP identification - you must access UR e-journals from the campus network or through the proxy server.

Some publishers "embargo" their most recent issues so that you may only be able to electronically access articles published 1-2 years earlier.

Many UR databases provide direct links from the database citation to the actual article. If there is no direct link, use Journal Titles to discover if UR actually has access to the article.

The Journal Titles tab is located on the main bar on the library homepage.

Boatwright Memorial Library

HEALTH STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE: Databases

Library databases in public health

Library databases in the health sciences

Locating articles through Journal Titles