It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch is a "discovery tool" that allows comprehensive searching across the catalog and databases as well as many other resource materials.
The "Find Articles" tab on the library's home page allows you to search within OneSearch for scholarly articles in English.
If your topic falls into several discipline areas (e.g. research on "hospice care" may require searching in health sciences, political science, sociology, and psychology databases), you could try a comprehensive search on all the databases included in "Find Articles."
Any of the databases listed here can searched individually:
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Core collection of titles from the Oxford series of reference books
Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.; Full-text; Varies by title, 2002 - present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Resource covering national & international newspapers
National & international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; Varies by title, 1980s - present
Health Sciences Databases
The content for Medline is produced by the National Library of Medicine (of the National Institutes of Health). Medline is distributed on several publishing platforms (e.g. Web of Science) or can be accessed by anyone at www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed as PubMed.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Also encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry.; Citations and abstracts; 1946 - present
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it offers information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in layperson language.
Journal Titles (also accessed from the tab on the library home page) helps you to:
identify which journal titles are available at UR
identify which titles are in print or can be accessed as e-journals
access the e-journals through UR subscription links *
connect to the catalog to find "holdings" information for print titles (which volumes/years that UR owns)
find UR journals by subject
* Most UR subscriptions must be accessed through the Journal Locator links and not by going directly to the journal's website. Most subscriptions are also verified by IP identification - you must access UR e-journals through the campus network using your netid and password.
Some publishers "embargo" their most recent issues so that you may only be able to electronically access articles published 1-2 years earlier.
Other Specialized Databases
You may also refer to the UR subject & course guides for a particular discipline. E.g. Anthropology, sociology, politcal science, religion, or philosophy,
There is also a course guide for the SSIR program: Global Health, Medical Humanities & Human Rights.
Citation and keyword index to scholarly journals in the liberal arts & sciences
Comprehensive citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage. The database covers approximately 160 disciplines ranging from Agriculture to Zoology.; Citations and abstracts; 1976 - present; Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index Expanded.
Provides extensive international coverage of all fields related to anthropology by combining two respected indexes: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
Abstracts with some linked full-text; Late 1800's - present
Journal articles and other research literature in psychology and related disciplines
International index to journal articles, book chapters and books, dissertations and technical reports related to all areas of psychology and related disciplines.; Citations, abstracts, and some linked full-text; 1806 - present; very few records prior to 1890
A broad selection of scholarly publications in religion and philosophy
Extensive coverage of topics including world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; 1975 - present
Google Scholar indexes "scholarly" articles found on the Web. Please know that it is not comprehensive, and that not all articles included will truly be considered scholarly. Please use with caution!
Using Interlibrary Loan
If you need a journal article from a journal title that UR does not own, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library. Depending on how long it takes for the loaning library to fill the request, you may receive it within a few days but allow 1-2 weeks to be sure it arrives in time. Most articles are provided as a .pdf and are emailed to you. However, some articles are only available as print -- you will be emailed when the article is available and can then pick it up at the Information Desk at Boatwright.