Resources: Newspapers, Journal Articles & Databases

Sources for Journal Articles

JSTOR
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
America: History & Life with Full Text
Search for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)

Encyclopedia Virginia Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is an authoritative and user-friendly resource on the history and culture of Virginia. A project of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities (VFH) in partnership with the Library of Virginia, EV publishes topical and biographical entries written by scholars, edited to be accessible to a general audience, and vigorously fact checked. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects, including images, audio and visual clips, and links to Google Street View tours of historic sites. Content creation is a work in progress, with new entries published regularly.
Remaking Virginia Marking the end of the 150th commemoration of the American Civil War, Remaking Virginia: Transformation through Emancipation explores how the end of slavery and emancipation affected every Virginian, forcing people to renegotiate and transform their relationships. Remaking Virginia focuses on how African Americans made the change from property to citizens and explores the societal transformation experienced by all Virginians through labor, church, education, families, political rights, military service, and violence.
Virginia Chronicle
Daily Dispatch
Valley of the Shadow
Visualizing Emancipation
Mapping Occupation

AM Explorer: Americana
Search a broad collection of primary source documents and papers from American history and popular culture. Includes the databases: American History, 1493-1945; American Indian Histories; American West; Everyday Life and Women in America, c. 1800-1920; Popular Culture, 1950-1975; Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice; and Virginia Company Archives. (AM)
American Periodicals Series Online
Search for articles published between 1740-1940 in special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. Topic covered include history, law, politics, religion, education, art, and more. (ProQuest)
Accessible Archives
Search for articles from American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including African American newspapers and women's suffrage newspapers. (Coherent Digital)

Collegian Archive
Search the University of Richmond's student newspaper that has been in publication since 1914. Note: Recent archives are available at the Collegian website. (University of Richmond)
Early American Newspapers
Search for newspaper articles published in the US from the colonial period through Reconstruction. This collection was a gift of Edwin S. Snead III, class of 1951. (Newsbank/Readex)
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)