Marcia Whitehead, Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
RHCS 103: Rhetorical Theory
Reference and Primary Sources
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Look up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
-
Merriam-Webster's American DictionaryAlso has a thesaurus and a Spanish-English dictionary.
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyEach of the 1600+ entries is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed before they are made public.
-
American RhetoricProvides thousands of speeches in video, audio & transcript format to understand argumentation and presentation regarding public speaking.
-
Silva RhetoricaeA primer of rhetoric covering the branches of oratory, rhetorical terminology, rhetorical pedagogy and much more.
-
Virtual Salt: A Handbook of Rhetorical DevicesDefinitions and examples of more than sixty traditional rhetorical devices, (including rhetorical tropes and rhetorical figures).
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
Academic Books and Articles - Secondary Sources
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
-
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to all major fields of philosophy. (EBSCO)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
-
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)
News Resources
-
Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
Collegian Archive This link opens in a new window
Search the University of Richmond's student newspaper that has been in publication since 1914. Note: Recent archives are available at the Collegian website. (University of Richmond)
-
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 13 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier and St. Louis American). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
-
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
-
Wall Street Journal (Website) This link opens in a new windowGo to WSJ.com Link opens in a new window. Enter your University netID and password. You will then be passed through to the WSJ logon/account sign-up page.
