LibGuides: FYS 100 (23): Jazz and the Beat Generation: Audio & Video

Beat Poetry

The Source : A film of the Beat Generation
Available in MRC:
MRC DVD
Call Number: PS228.B6 S69 2000
Howl and other poems
This is a link to our catalog, from which you can connect with a audio recording of Allen Ginsberg reading his own poems.
Howls, raps & roars
This is a link to information about a CD that presents live poetry readings and comedy routines from the 1950s and 1960s by some of San Francisco's counterculture artists.
Allen Ginsberg Audio
Links to online recordings of Allen Ginsberg.

Jazz Videos

Streaming Audio & Video (for UR students, faculty, and staff)

Music & Performing Arts
Combines audio and video that spans all time periods, genres, and cultures.

Incorporates content from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.; Streaming audio & video, printed scores, reference materials; 1910-present
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Historical and current audio recordings.

Streaming access to over 19,000 jazz tracks from the 1920s to the present; Streaming audio with text; 1924 - present
Music Online: American Music
Audio recordings of historical American music in a variety of genres.

Streaming audio with text; 1909 - present
Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection of documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others.

Topics covered include history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, womens studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Tools are available to make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created.; Streaming video
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
Audio recordings from significant independent record labels of scholarly interest.

Streaming audio with text; 1975 - present
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Performances of and documentaries on ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

System Requirements; Streaming video; 1955 - 2009
Public Broadcasting System (PBS) Videos
Use to find videos originally broadcast on PBS. Includes several of Ken Burns' series, American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others.
Digital Theatre+
Videos of theatre, musicals, opera, and ballet (primarily recent British and American productions), plus documentaries and teaching resources.

Streaming video with study guides and supporting documents; 1950 - present

WEBSITES FOR JAZZ

Jazz.com
A comprehensive website featuring reviews, blog posts, interviews, and an encyclopedia
All About Jazz
A comprehensive portal featuring news, reviews, profiles, and forums, plus monthly venue schedules for the NY metro area.
Institute of Jazz Studies
Located at Rutgers University, this is the largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz materials in the world.
Center for Jazz Studies
A unit of Columbia University that offers classes, exhibitions, lectures, performances, and scholarly resources in jazz studies.
Smithsonian Jazz
Home to the Duke Ellington Archive, Jazz Appreciation Month, the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra, and an online youth education curriculum.
Jazz at Lincoln Center
Its NYC venue houses performance space and the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame. Sponsors "Jazz in the Schools" and other educational activities.
NEA Jazz Masters
Includes profiles of musicians and other figures that the National Endowment for the Arts has designated "Jazz Masters" from 1982 to the present.
Chicago Jazz Archive
A University of Chicago site focusing on a variety of local jazz musicians and styles.