Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

FYS 100 (23): Jazz and the Beat Generation: Finding Articles in Encyclopedias and Journals

Encyclopedia Articles

Sources of Articles in Journals and Encyclopedias

Getting the Full Text of Articles

If the full-text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, look for a "Locate it" button, which will link you to either the journal in which the article is published or to the article itself.

If there is no button, use the Journal Titles tab in the red search box at the top of the main library web page to search for the title of the journal, or use the link below.  If we have a subscription, you will learn what years are available and in what database.  Some or all years of a journal may be available only in physical form in the periodicals collection on B2.

For other journals we may have limited access, for example, not the most recent issues or not the earliest published issues. If we do not have access to the issue you need, use  ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system.

 

JOURNAL ARTICLES ON JAZZ TOPICS

Use the journal indexes below to find articles on jazz topics.   The International Index to Music Periodicals has the broadest coverage, with many full-text articles.  JSTOR offers recent scholarly articles in many subject areas, including music.  RILM Abstracts contains only scholarly material, including dissertations and conference papers. Rock's Back Pages is a selective archive of journalism on rock and pop music.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.