It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Provides extensive international coverage of all fields related to anthropology by combining two respected indexes: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
Abstracts with some linked full-text; Late 1800's - present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Electronic access to the reviews with links into Medline and Web of Knowledge from the bibliographies; Full-text: 1996 - present; Table of Contents: 1986-1995
LOCATING articles through Journal Titles (Journal Locator)
The library's Journal Titles (at the Journal Titles tab on the library homepage) helps you to:
identify which journal titles are available at UR
identify which titles are in print or can be accessed as e-journals
access the e-journals through UR subscription links *
connect to the catalog to find "holdings" information for print titles (which volumes/years that UR owns)
find UR journals by subject
* Most UR subscriptions must be accessed through the Journal Locator links and not by going directly to the journal's website. Most subscriptions are also verified by IP identification - you must access UR e-journals from the campus network or through the proxy server.
Some publishers "embargo" their most recent issues so that you may only be able to electronically access articles published 1-2 years earlier.
Health sciences databases for IDENTIFYING & often RETRIEVING articles
The content for Medline is produced by the National Library of Medicine (of the National Institutes of Health). Medline is distributed on several publishing platforms (e.g. Web of Science) or can be accessed by anyone at www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed as PubMed.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Also encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry.; Citations and abstracts; 1946 - present
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it offers information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in layperson language.