It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History 199 - Tobacco (Sackley): Newspapers and Databases
This research guide is for the students of Dr. Nicole Sackley's History 199 class.
Topics range from American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
An easy-to-use resource for current and historical United States Census data and demographic information.
Create reports and maps of the U.S. population for a variety of geographic levels, on topics such as race, sex, age, education, and many more. Social Explorer provides access to data from all Censuses from 1790-present and the American Community Survey, plus additional data on religious congregations. To save your maps and to use all of the database's tools and features, you will need to create a free account.; Web-based maps & downloadable statistics; Varies, 1790 - present
Digital texts of books published in England in several languages between 1701-1800. Coverage from a variety of materials -- including books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera -- with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, women, and collections from the French Revolution.
Primarily American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including important African-American newspapers. Includes the Pennsylvania Gazette, Frank Leslie's Weekly, suffragist materials, Civil War articles, and Godey's Lady's Book.
Includes collections on American history including American Indian and the American West, American women, slavery and abolition, American 20th century popular culture, and the Virginia Company Archives.
Location tool for archival collections in Virginia
Manuscripts and archives in Virginia dealing with African-American history, the Civil War, individuals in local cities, towns, and counties, and government and politics.; Index of archival finding aids; 2001 - present; Database includes partial archival collections from the University of Virginia, the Library of Virginia, College of William and Mary, Virginia Tech., Virginia State University, Old Dominion University, James Madison University Virginia Military Institute, and the Virginia Historical Society.
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Provides comprehensive city, regional and state news, primarily for Richmond, Virginia, from Aug 19, 1985 to the present.
Full-text, abstracts, and citations; 1985 - present; Special attention is given to Virginia's tobacco and agriculture industries, as well as numerous large companies such as the CSX Corporation, Bank of Virginia and James River Corporation. Richmond's employment base extends from chemical, food and tobacco manufacturing to biotechnology, semiconductors and high-tech fibers.
Full-text archives of six national papers of record and five historically Black papers.
Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, The Atlanta Constitution, The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times with Index, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post; Full-text; Dates vary with each newspaper.
Comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century.
Collections of 19th century newspapers, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.