Corruption Indicators
- Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) - Transparency InternationalRanking of the levels of corruption in 180 countries determined by experts and surveys.
- Global Corruption Barometer - Transparency InternationalPublic opinion attitudes and experiences regarding corruption in dozens of countries.
- Bribe Payers Index - Transparency InternationalMeasures the likelihood firms based in the developed world to pay bribes to operate.
- Worldwide Governance IndicatorsReports on indicators for 212 countries focusing on accountability, political stability, government effectiveness, rule of law and control of corruption.
Education
- UNESCO - EducationProvides information on UN development activities regarding the development of education throughout the world, including information on the WDGs.
- World Bank - EducationResearch and reports on the World Bank's activities regarding education in developing countries.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
Economics/Trade
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new window
Explore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and reports published by the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) that contain their recommendations and research for policymakers and analysts to implement solutions to difficult problems in their respective countries. Areas of research include agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, finance and investment, social issues, taxation, trade, transport, and more. (OECD)
Elections/Democracy
- Fragile States Index - Fund for PeaceRanks the level of political stability in every country in the world.
- Freedom HouseProvides scores, reports and statistics covering democracy and freedom across the world. There are reports on civil liberties, political rights, freedom of speech, freedom of press, and countries transitioning to democracy.
- ElectionGuideFocuses on current elections, but includes previous elections back to 1998. Developed by a non-profit International Foundation for Election Systems (IFES), the world's premiere election assistance organization.
- International Voter Turnout - IDEAMost comprehensive global collection of political participation statistics available, covers presidential & parliamentary elections, numbers of registered voters and information of false ballots.
Energy/Environment
- International Energy AssociationInternational organization focused on reporting energy development and consumption throughout the world.
- World Resources Institute Maps & DataOnline collection of information regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends providing reports, statistics and graphics.
- UN Environment Programme (UNEP) websiteProvides information and publications of the UNEP regarding the environment and climate change.
- UN Environment Programme: World Environment Situation RoomCompilation of United Nations data on many environment-related topics.
Food & Hunger
- World Food ProgrammeUN organization focusing on distributing food to those in need during times of natural disasters and conflict.
- Food & Agriculture OrganizationProvides information on eradicating hunger as well as agriculture, forestry & fishery development activities throughout the world.
Globalization
- Global Policy Forum - Globalization SectionProvides information on globalization of economies, politics and culture.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF) - Globalization PageProvides analysis on globalization and economic actions taken by the IMF affecting globalization.
Health & Human Development
- World Health Organization WebsiteProvides reports on health and disease in countries and health care programs in the developing world.
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new window
Explore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
- Human Development IndexRanks countries on the level of human development, such as poverty levels, health, life expectancies, education, equality of genders, etc.
- Global Health CouncilNon-profit group's website focused on improving health of people throughout the world through education and health programs, including publications.
- UNAIDSProviding information on the UN's AIDS initiative to prevent and treat HIV/AIDS.
International Public Opinion
- AfrobarometerProvides reports and datasets of public opinion surveys of various African countries.
- AmericasBarometer - LAPOPMeasures attitudes and behaviors of voting-age adults in the Americas covering such topics as democracy, corruption, transparency, etc. done by the Latin American Public Opinion Project
- Arab BarometerProvides reports and data on public opinion regarding domestic and international issues in various Middle Eastern countries.
- World Public Opinion.orgCovers public opinion by region of the world and by topic.
- Pew Research International AffairsProvides access to world-wide public opinion polls regarding important issues of the day.
- World Values SurveyContains sets of surveys of people throughout the world capturing their beliefs and values.
Poverty
- Multi-dimensional Poverty IndexA new measurement of poverty, focusing on elements of education, health and living standards into levels of poverty. Created by the UN and Oxford University.
- Global Poverty Research GroupPublications and working papers by economists, political scientists, sociologists and anthropologists researching poverty and inequality.
- UNDP - Poverty ReductionDescribes the various UN programs to reduce global poverty.
- Brookings Insitute - Global PovertyAnalysis of policies aimed at reducing global poverty and inequality.
- Global Distribution of PovertyColumbia University project mapping global poverty. There are existing maps and data to create your own.
Women
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from journals that publish feminist research in areas of sociology, history, political science, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. (EBSCO)
- UNWomenWomen and Gender Gateway to United Nations sources
- Internet Women's History SourcebookA subset of the Internet Ancient, Medieval and Modern Sourcebooks that focus on women.
- World Bank Gender websiteProvides reports and publications regarding gender in developing countries and World Bank programs focusing on gender.
- Social Institutions and Gender IndexMeasurement of gender discrimination by factoring social and cultural aspects including family code, physical integration, son preference, civil liberties and ownership rights.
- Gender Inequality IndexRates gender equality for every country, considering female access to education, healthcare, labor participation and political participation.
Index to Topics on this page
Click on a topic to jump to that box on this page: