Business Librarian
MBA 580 / BUAD 497: Strategic Management
Market Research Databases
- BizMiner Academic This link opens in a new window
Search this database for industry financial analysis and marketing research reports by industry and size. It provides startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share; failure rates; entrepreneurial activity rates; startup P&L detail and ratios; and detailed small business balance sheets, P&L and ratios. (BizMiner)
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports for different industries in the US and select international markets, as well as state-specific industry reports and company benchmarking reports for more than 5000 companies. Reports include trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasts, and industry growth rates. (IBISWorld)
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowAccess product and industry market research reports covering US and international marketplaces. (Mintel Group)
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Access market research reports from a range of publishers covering every sector of the economy as well as emerging industries, with a particular focus on consumer goods and services. Coverage includes both US and international content. (MarketResearch.com)
- eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Access data, research reports, and forecasts for a range of industries, including advertising and marketing, social media, financial services (including fintech), technology, health, automotive, ecommerce and retail. It includes US and international content. (eMarketer, Inc.)
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to business, markets, mass media, technology, and more. The data is compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (Statista)
Company Information Resources
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Access public and private company information (both US and foreign). This database includes executive contacts, news, SWOT reports, analyst reports and industry reports. Build company lists, research executives and explore triggers for various corporate events. Also included are reports from First Research. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
- ReferenceUSA International Businesses This link opens in a new window
Access in-depth profiles of businesses from around the world. (Data Axle, Inc.)
- Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
Access data and research reports for US stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs. (Morningstar, Inc.)
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Access a broad spectrum of industry, company, and investment analysis. The database includes S&P industry surveys and stock reports (S&P equity research) where you can drill down to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, and more. (S&P Global)
- Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Search this database for company information, such as financial statement data, annual reports, histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and more. (LSEG - Mergent)
- Ward's Directory of US Private and Public CompaniesBasic information about companies and rankings of U.S. companies by sales size
- Historical Annual Reports (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAccess annual reports from US companies dating from 1844-2008. Find information on financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends. (ProQuest)
- Statista Company DossiersInformation on all top companies in all major industries and regions with detailed company overviews and rankings, including revenue, number of employees, company value, stock price, and major competitors.
- Annual Report Collection (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
Find historical annual reports from corporations around the world over the past 100 years. (LSEG - Mergent)
Databases by Industry
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports for different industries in the US and select international markets, as well as state-specific industry reports and company benchmarking reports for more than 5000 companies. Reports include trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasts, and industry growth rates. (IBISWorld)
- Statista Industry ReportsComprehensive data on markets and industries, including market overviews, revenues, number of employees, as well as the latest information about the state of the industries, trends, and forecasts.
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Access a broad spectrum of industry, company, and investment analysis. The database includes S&P industry surveys and stock reports (S&P equity research) where you can drill down to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, and more. (S&P Global)
- Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics on sporting goods and the sports marketing industry, including equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, and more. (SBRnet)
Databases by Economy
- Conference Board This link opens in a new windowAccess reports and analysis on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics, with a particular focus on the economy and labor market, corporate governance, public policy as it relates to the economy, and human capital and labor markets. (Conference Board, Inc.)
- UCLA Anderson Forecast Member Zone This link opens in a new window
Access economic forecasts and reports for the US and the state of California written by leading economists. (UCLA)
- World Bank Documents and Reports This link opens in a new window
Search for reports and working papers published by the World Bank on international and country-specific economic, development, and environmental issues. (World Bank)
- Moody's Analytics This link opens in a new window
*Create an account using your UR email address. This database provides real-time monitoring, detailed economic analysis, economic indicators, trackers, and forecasts for the United States and the world. (Moody's)
Databases by Geography
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Access country, industry and company data and analysis from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. The database includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news. Note: Only 2 users may access this database at one time. (ISI Emerging Markets Group)
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Access reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and reports published by the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) that contain their recommendations and research for policymakers and analysts to implement solutions to difficult problems in their respective countries. Areas of research include agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, finance and investment, social issues, taxation, trade, transport, and more. (OECD)
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
- World Bank Documents and Reports This link opens in a new window
Search for reports and working papers published by the World Bank on international and country-specific economic, development, and environmental issues. (World Bank)
- Country Risk Reports (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
Access political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Each report contains a Country Risk Indicator Summary, Key Statistics, and in-depth analysis of Political Risk, Macroeconomic Risk, Commercial Risk, and External Economic Risk. This database is updated weekly. (LSEG - Mergent)
- Mintel Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Access data on market size, market share, and segmentation, along with supporting trend forecasts. (Mintel Group)
- StatsAmerica This link opens in a new window
Access datasets from a variety of government agencies and a few commercial sources. Economic developers often use this data in site requests, developing metrics, grant writing, and strategic planning. (Indiana University)