It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily
Full web access to The New York Times and NYT Archive from 1851-present. For the date range 1923-1980, users are limited to 5 accesses per day. In order to access NYT content from off-campus, UR students, faculty, and staff must redeem a code which will provide the user with 26 weeks of uninterrupted off-site access to NYTimes.com. As part of the login, users must authenticate and verify they are UR student, faculty, or staff.
Click Create Account -- You must use a @richmond.edu email address to create an account.
If you have already registered for NYTimes.com access via the on campus link, login to the offsite access link and pull a 26-week pass. You will have uninterrupted access for this timeframe. (Note: If you have a current paid New York Times subscription, you will have to call 800-698-8437 and cancel your paid subscription, prior to registering for NYTimes.com on or offsite access through the university.)
These databases will lead you to a range of articles on authors, productions, directors, etc. Literature Resource Center is particularly useful for background information on playwrights, overviews of their works (in case you want to know more about the plays you haven't discussed yet in class) and the full text of critical articles.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text
This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes the content of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.; Citations, abstracts, and some full-text; Years: 1972 - present
Theatre Journals and Magazines on the Web
Only some of these titles are scholarly (peer-reviewed). Hover over a title for more information.