LibGuides: FYS 100 (13/15): Visions of America on the Contemporary Stage: Finding Background: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Print Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Core collection of titles from the Oxford series of reference books

Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.; Full-text; Varies by title, 2002 - present
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Full-text; 1990s - present

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works

Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text

Notable Playwrights by Carl Rollyson (Editor)
ISBN: 1587653168
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

Finding Books in Boatwright Library

To search for books use Books & More (Catalog). When dealing with a topic that can be used in many fields it is best to add a second word that describes your area of interest. for example, "Pinter" and "Homecoming".

The best way to find books with criticism of a particular author is to type in the full name followed by "criticism." For example: David Mamet criticism.

If you want to browse our collection of books on the theater, here are the relevant locations on Boatwright Level B 2:

NA 6820 - 6845 - Theaters
PN 1600 - 1988 - Drama
PN 1720-1861 - Drama (history)
PN 2055-2073 - Acting
PN 2080 - Audition Scenes and Monologues
PN 2085 - Stage Management
PN 2091 - 2096 - Stage Design (Scenery, Lighting, Sound, etc)
PN 2100 2266 - Theater History
PN 2266 - American Theater
PN 2270.A35 - African-American Theater
PN 2270.F45 - Feminist Theater