Contact a Liaison Librarian:
Related Primary Source Guides on the Web
- Using Primary Sources from DoHistory.orgExplanation of primary sources from a history guide.
- Using Primary ResourcesTeacher's Guides and Analysis Tool from the Library of Congress
Selected Primary Source Websites
- American Memory Project - The Library of CongressAmerican Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- The Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy from Yale Law SchoolSpans Ancient to the Present.
- Digital Library for Decorative Arts & Material Culture - University of Wisconsin, MadisonIncludes documents, facsimiles, and images.
- Documenting the American South -DocSouth by UNCDocumenting the American South (DocSouth) includes twelve thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture.
- GettDigital Collections - Gettysburg CollegeFree digital collections, including Asian art, maps, Civil War era collections, college sheet music, WWII posters, Eisenhower correspondence, New England Loyal Publication Society.
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 - Harvard University LibraryImmigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from 1789 until the onset of the Great Depression.
- Perseus Digital Library - Tufts UniversityOur flagship collection covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
- Reveal DigitalReveal Digital develops Open Access primary source collections from under-represented 20th-century voices of dissent, crowdfunded by libraries.
- Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters, 1846-1869 - BYUThe years 1846-1869 are significant, representing the Mormon exodus from Nauvoo, Illinois, the joining of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific railroads at Promontory Point, Utah, and the ending of the overland pioneer era.