It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HISTORY RESEARCH GUIDE: Researching Richmond
Includes library research materials (books, online research databases, websites, journals, and media) in studying history.
Collections of 19th century newspapers, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Large-scale plans of Virginia cities and towns, created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property
Map information includes data such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. ; Full-text digital maps; 1867-1970
Location tool for archival collections in Virginia
Manuscripts and archives in Virginia dealing with African-American history, the Civil War, individuals in local cities, towns, and counties, and government and politics.; Index of archival finding aids; 2001 - present; Database includes partial archival collections from the University of Virginia, the Library of Virginia, College of William and Mary, Virginia Tech., Virginia State University, Old Dominion University, James Madison University Virginia Military Institute, and the Virginia Historical Society.
The University's student newspaper that has been in publication since 1914.
It consists of over 90 volumes and is full text searchable, with the ability to view the article or complete newspaper page. Note: Recent Collegian archives are available at the Collegian website.; Full-text; 1914 - 2011