Increase the visibility of your research: Making your data available to other researchers through widely-searched repositories can increase your prominence and demonstrate continued use of the data and relevance of your research.
Meet grant & journal requirements: Many funding agencies and scholarly journals now require that researchers deposit in an archive data which they collect as part of a research project.
Facilitate new discoveries: Enabling other researchers to use your data reinforces open scientific inquiry and can lead to new and unanticipated discoveries. And doing so prevents duplication of effort by enabling others to use your data rather than trying to gather the data themselves.
Support Open Access: Researchers are becoming increasingly more aware of the need to manage their work and consider issues of scholarly communication. The Open Access Movement advocates for researchers to share their research outputs in order to foster the development of knowledge.
(adapted from MIT Libraries' Why Manage & Share Your Data? and previous iterations of their list)
*Faculty may use the above description of UR Scholarship in data management plans, if desired.
Dataverse Network Project
The Dataverse Network is an application to publish, share, reference, extract and analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows to replicate others work. Researchers and data authors get credit, publishers and distributors get credit, affiliated institutions get credit.
How to archive your data: Create your own Dataverse at Harvard's IQSS here. Once you have created a Dataverse, you are free to upload, describe, and share datasets on your own.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
How to archive your data: Fill out ICSPR's Data Deposit Form here. ICPSR's archivists will review your submission and work with you to make it ready for release. You may also contact Samantha Guss (firstname.lastname@example.org), UR's Official Representative to ICPSR, for help with archiving data.
Dryad is an international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences. It is governed by a consortium of journals that collaboratively promote data archiving and ensure the sustainability of the repository.
How to archive your data: Fill out the Dryad data deposit form linked from this page, describe your publication, and upload your data.
DataCite Repository Finder
A tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe data repositories that users can search.
Open Access Directory's Data Repositories Wiki
A list of repositories and databases for locating and depositing open data.