Library Research Databases
Primary Sources
- ARTFL-FRANTEXT This link opens in a new window
Find and read French-language texts from the 12th-20th centuries. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. (University of Chicago)
- British Literary Manuscripts II, Medieval & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Search this primary source database for manuscripts dating roughly from 1120-1660. It includes letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and more. (Gale)
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowAccess books printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1770. Subjects covered include literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, religion, and politics. (ProQuest)
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Search an archive images and descriptive data of medieval art from late Antiquity to the sixteenth century. (Princeton)
Secondary Sources
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- EBSCO (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowSelect a subset of EBSCO databases to cross-search them at once. (EBSCO)
Non-UR Internet Resources for Primary Sources
- Avalon ProjectTranslations of ancient, medieval and modern legal documents, complete with additional context and definitions from scholars in the field. Hosted by Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library.
- Del Re Militari - Primary SourcesDe Re Militari: the Society for Medieval Military History is a scholarly society dedicated to the study of warfare, broadly construed, in the Middle Ages. You can find primary sources, book reviews, and blog posts on medieval topics.
- EuroDocs - History of Medieval and Renaissance EuropeCollection of websites and sources for medieval primary source documents.
- Internet Medieval SourcebookHosted through Fordham University's Center for Medieval Studies, this features a collection of online resources all on Medieval history and its associated topics, some going as far back as 1996.
- The Mackinney Collection of Medieval Medical IllustrationsHosted by UNC University Library's Special Collections team, this collection features scans of medieval medical illustrations.
- Manuscripts OnlineManuscripts Online enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. The resources include literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.
- Middle English Texts SeriesCollection of medieval literature from the University of Rochester's Robbins Library Digital Project.
- Online Medieval Source BibliographyProvided by Fordham University's Center for Medieval Studies, this site provides contextual information on key medieval primary sources, and shows links to the full documents/translations.
- Hill Museum and Manuscript Library - Digital CollectionsCollection of manuscripts from Western European, Islamic, and other sources. Must register an account to read the documents.
- CORSAIR Online Collection CatalogCORSAIR is a single database providing unified access to over 330,000 records for medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, rare and reference books, literary and historical manuscripts, music scores, ancient seals and tablets, drawings, prints, and other art objects.
- World Digital LibraryCollection of primary sources and other material from the Library of Congress. Use the database filters to narrow down to specific time periods.