Primary Sources
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents (mostly manuscripts) that illuminate American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. (AM)
- American West This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents on the westward expansion of the United States. Topics covered include exploration by early pioneers, the Gold Rush, evolution of Western towns, the growth of the railroad, agricultural transformation, Texas/Mexico history, and Native American history and culture. (AM)
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Access archival finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world. (OCLC)
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Access over 50 archival collections on a variety of topics, including FBI surveillance, law, literature, film, and civil rights. (Gale)
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 This link opens in a new window
Find primary source material covering the rapid revolution of the justice and penal system during the nineteenth century, as well as the rise of sensationalism around crimes and criminals that captured the public's imagination. On one end of the spectrum, you will find trial transcripts, court proceedings, and the development of the police and forensic techniques; on the other end, you will also find popular fiction and detective novels; and bridging the two are newspaper accounts, true crime literature, and related ephemera. (Gale)
- JSTOR Open CollectionsIncludes over 1680 digital collections of "images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world."
- Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project This link opens in a new window
Access primary source documents from the Federal Writers' Project, which employed thousands of people during the Great Depression to create state and city guides, local and oral histories, poems and plays, ethnographies, children's books, and more. (Gale)
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on topics related to music and youth culture. Documents include photographs, ephemera, memorabilia, pamphlets, zines, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period. (AM)
- Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 This link opens in a new windowSearch primary sources that document the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. Learn more about the evolution of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at local, national, and federal levels. (Gale)
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Search previously classified federal records from the executive branch spanning the 20th and 21st centuries. Types of documents include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Learn more about what was happening behind the scenes at the highest level of American policymaking on issues of national security and foreign policy. (Gale)
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)