Books | Subject Headings
- Country names [Search for an Individual Country]
- Israel-Arab War, 1967
- jewish-arab relations
- jewish-arab relations 1917-1948
- Palestine-history-1917-1948
- Palestine-history-19th century
Primary Sources
- The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary RecordLillian Goldman Law Library | Yale Law School | Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents that illustrate the links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as chart key issues around agriculture, nutrition, food production, and advertising. Items include manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, correspondence, government reports, and other illustrated content. (AM)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, 1939-2001 This link opens in a new window
Search this primary source database for a window into radio broadcasts happening in the second half of the 20th century. At the start of WWII, trained specialists listened to radio broadcasts from around the world to help Britain and its allies gather open-source intelligence. Over the next 60 years, BBC expanded its scope and listened to radio broadcasts of all sorts of events. Transcripts were created, then translated into English, then read by experts, who then selected the critical content and compiled it into the daily reports that comprise this database. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. Documentation offers a record of the response of governments to various crises and shifts in policy; a chronicling of the aid work undertaken by NGOs and charities seeking to provide relief and aid in resettlement; and a recognition through individual narratives of the daily reality of the refugee experience. (Gale)
- U.S. Intelligence on Europe, 1945-1995 This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of thousands of formerly classified government documents that provide a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, during the latter half of the 20th century. (Brill)
- Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new windowSearch primary sources on peripheral groups deemed "extreme" or "radical" by contemporaries on both the right and the left from the early 1900s to the present. Find sources on anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, and white supremacist/nationalist groups. Most materials come from the US and Great Britain, but a few are from Australia and other countries in Europe. (Gale)
From the Archives
Historical materials on Israel and Palestine are available within the Galvin Rare Book Room and Boatwright's archival collections. Please search using the "Rare Book" tab on the library homepage to locate resources and materials in the rare book collection.
In the archival collections, researchers may find one of our small collections, SC-3 Maps of Jerusalem, of interest. The collection contains 2 partially-completed maps drafted in 1969 by Ruhi (Rouhi) al-Khatib, following the 1967 Arab-Israeli War. One map depicts the continued seizure of Arab land within the city walls of Jerusalem; the second depicts Arab land within the greater principality of Jerusalem. Both maps were given to University of Richmond professor Emory Bogle, a professor of history specializing in the Middle East, by al-Khatib in August 1969 in Jordan.