Databases and Web Sites
Many kinds of images can enhance your paper or presentation, not just sculptural representations of your subject person. Vases, coins, and architecture may all represent objects or events related to your topic.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on most aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present. (Oxford)
- CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images OnlineCAMIO offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art history and studio art programs, course Web sites, lectures, presentations, and research resources.
- Google ImagesGoogle Image Search indexes millions of images, and it is searchable by image size, coloration, and subject.
Still Image Resources
- Creative Commons You can choose to search images for commerical, educational, or private use. Some images, audio and video files are licensed to be altered to new works.
- Wikipedia CommonsDatabase of over 15 million images, with varying degrees of permissions, with most being available for free use.
- World ImagesApproximately 80,000 world images from the California State University IMAGE Project. It is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. Images can be used as long as there is attribution.
- American MemoryLibraries throughout the US have digitized and shared images of their collections relating to American history and culture. Each image has the level of permission permitted.
- Public Domain ReviewWebsite containing a huge number of images in public domain or available through open license.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryOver 800,000 digitized images of materials in the NY Public Library, including photographs, manuscripts, maps and more.