Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
OneSearch
- OneSearchYou can use OneSearch to find many types of sources, as it combines results from many of our databases.
Clicking on the title of a book from the list of results displays the details about the title, its location, its availability, the subject headings assigned to it, and often its contents. Clicking on the title of an article will give you information about where to find the full text.
Sources of Scholarly Articles
These databases will lead you to a range of articles on authors, productions, directors, etc. Literature Resource Center is particularly useful for background information on playwrights, overviews of their works (in case you want to know more about the plays you haven't discussed yet in class) and the full text of critical articles.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles and books on topics related to theatre, dance, and the performing arts. (EBSCO)
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the performing arts, including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. (ProQuest)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to film, film theory, film history, and film criticism. The database also contains "Treasures from the Film Archives," which has a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world. (ProQuest)
Film Reviews vs. Film Criticism
Sources for Reviews
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
- New York Times (Website) This link opens in a new window
*Redeem a code and create an account using your UR email address to access the New York Times' website. Your account will be active for 26 weeks, after which you will need to repeat the process and redeem the code again. Note: If you have a current paid New York Times subscription, cancel your paid subscription, prior to redeeming the code and registering. Our subscription does NOT contain access to Games or Cooking. Once registered, you will have access to the New York Times articles from 1851-present. For the date range 1923-1980, users are limited to 5 accesses per day. Note: Web-only content is not linked in OneSearch. You must access the website directly for those articles. (New York Times)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- American Literary and Drama ReviewsIndexes reviews in late 19th-century periodicals. Shelved in Boatwright's first-floor Reference section (PN2256 .M37 1984)
- Guide to Critical ReviewsLocated on first floor. PN 2266 A1 S3X. Vols. I covers American Drama 1909- ca.1982 and vol. III covers Foreign Drama 1909-1977.
- New York Theatre Critics' ReviewsThis resource is not online.