Citing Sources
Why do we cite?
- Avoid plagiarism…intentional OR unintentional, always give credit to original author/creator
- Leave a “trail of breadcrumbs” to find information for yourself and the audience
- Be part of a scholarly conversation- trace the lineage of ideas
What do we cite?
- Information that isn’t common knowledge or general facts to you/your audience
- Direct quotations
- Summarizing or paraphrasing ideas from source
Online Tutorials from Linked-in Learning
With more than 1,300 courses taught by industry experts—and more added every week—lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever you’re ready to learn. You can even view the resources on your iOS or Android mobile device (via web site or mobile apps).
Current faculty, students, and staff have access to a University subscription of lynda.com resources. Please click the Access Linked in Learning link. You will then get a UR login page for lynda.com — use your UR NetID and 16-character password before being redirected to lynda.com's web site.
Sample topics: Writing a Research Paper; Excel 2019 Essential Training; Word 2016 Essential Training; Improving Your Memory; Photoshop CC 2017 One-on-One: Fundamentals; Time Management Fundamentals; Programming Foundations: Fundamentals
Examples of MLA Citations
- Library Guide for MLA 9 from UWFVery helpful summary and examples.
- Guide to MLA StyleFrom the Writer's Web.
UR Online Resources
- University of Richmond Honor Council & the UR Honor Code
The UR Honor Council maintains the University's Honor Code used in order to maintain high standards of academic integrity. This website provides information on the Honor Code Pledge students are required to acknowledge for assignments.
- The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Resources for all things writing and citing in APA and MLA.
- Writing Center - The University of Richmond
The Writing Center provides experienced tutors who offer friendly critiques for written work in any major.
- Writer's Web - The University of Richmond - Writing Center
Writer's Web is a free, public-access handbook that covers help and information for all stages of the writing process.
- Citation Guides for Government Documents
Links to various websites for help with citing government documents and publications.
-
Zotero
Zotero is a free citation management tool that can automatically import citations into your personal account, organize sources into folders, and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. It also includes a word processor plugin for formatting footnotes and parenthetical citations.
MLA Style Guide
CITATION EXAMPLES:
- Sources found online (electronic resources): Webpages, websites, online magazines/newspapers, articles found in databases, e-books, movies
- Book or Chapter
- Journal Articles
- Periodicals: Newspapers, Magazines
COMMON QUESTIONS:
- How do I cite a film from an online streaming database like Kanopy or Swank?
- How do I cite books, websites, articles or films that I find online?
Proper Paraphrasing
- Using ParaphrasesFrom the UR Writer's Web
- How to paraphraseThis page from Mary Baldwin University has a series of useful examples of correct and incorrect paraphrases of a single original sentence.
Zotero
Zotero is a free citation management tool that can automatically import citations into your personal account, organize sources into folders, and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. It also includes a word processor plugin for formatting footnotes and parenthetical citations.
- Zoterobib is a quick cite tool for citing individual items or creating bibliographies on the fly.
- Zotero web version offers the majority of the features of the download version and syncs with your Zotero library if you have downloaded Zotero. From the Zotero image below, click on Web Library
- Zotero downloaded to your personal computer offers the full citation management features and syncs with your Zotero web version.From the Zotero image below, click on download.
Zotero - Quick Start
