Quick Reference Guides
Reference & Background Resources
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by ISBN: 9780195188172
Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages by ISBN: 0786411198
Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress & Textiles of the British Isles, 450-1450ISBN: 9004189483Publication Date: 2012- Encyclopedia of the Medieval ChroniclePublication Date: 2010
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture by
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers unparalleled coverage of all aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century. Drawing upon the expansive scholarship in the celebrated Grove Dictionary of Art and addinghundreds of new entries on topics not previously covered, as well as fully updated and expanded entries and bibliographies, The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers students, researchers, and the general public a reliable, up-to-date, and convenient resource covering this fieldof major importance in the development of Western history and international art and architecture.The Encyclopedia offers scholarly material on Medieval art in intelligent, well-written, and informative articles, each of which is followed by a bibliography to support further research. These include a mixture of shorter, more factual articles and larger, multi-section articles tracing thedevelopment of the arts in major regions. There are articles on all subject areas in Medieval art including biographies of major artists, architects and patrons; countries, cities, and sites; cultures and styles (Anglo-Saxon art, Carolingian art, Coptic art, Early Christian art, Romanesque, Gothic,Insular art, Lombard art, Merovingian art, Ottonian art, and Viking art); ivories, books and illuminated manuscripts, metalwork, architecture, painting, tapestries, sculpture, mosaics, reliquaries, and more.Part of the acclaimed Grove Art family of print encyclopedias, The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture is lavishly illustrated with more than 460 halftones and 170 color plates. The 6 volumes are organized into a cohesive A-Z format, with a comprehensive index.
ISBN: 0195395360Publication Date: 2012
The New Cambridge Medieval History - check library catalog for multiple volumes
Online Databases - Primary & Secondary Resources
- British Literary Manuscripts II, Medieval & Renaissance This link opens in a new windowSearch this primary source database for manuscripts dating roughly from 1120-1660. It includes letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and more. (Gale)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks (often spanning multiple volumes) that provide both a broad and deep overview of historical eras and ideas. (Cambridge)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowAccess thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
