Avoid Plaigiarism
- Did I Plagiarize? ChartFlow chart that defines the types and severity of plagiarism.
Reference Materials
- Infectious Disease: A Very Short Introduction byISBN: 9780199688937
Recommended Databases
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the life sciences. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowAccess journal articles from bioscience research journals published by small scientific societies and non-commercial publishers. (BioOne)
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Access reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996) This link opens in a new window
Search broadcasts and news of selected non-U.S. media sources translated into English by the CIA. (Newsbank/Readex)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Medline This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to biology, medicine, and psychology. (Clarivate)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the liberal arts and the sciences. This link cross-searches the Core databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It's part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
Primary Source Resources
- 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch pamphlets digitized from the collections of several UK universities. These pamphlets cover key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of 19th century Britain. (JSTOR)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain (1800-1900). Note: UR has access to parts I and II of this database. (Gale)
- 19th Century UK Periodicals (Part II: Empire) This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of periodicals that focus on the role Britain played as an imperial power throughout the 1800s. It contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. (Note: We only have access to Part II: Empire). (Gale)
- Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and HygieneTransactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene publishes authoritative and impactful original, peer-reviewed articles and reviews on all aspects of tropical medicine. (1908 - )
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on history, culture, peoples, and societies of Latin American and the Caribbean. Documents include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera. (Gale)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
Other Sources of Books
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Search a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
- Google BooksThese are digitized books. Most have only a limited portion of their text online, but the full text is searchable and you may find the full text in the UR Library catalog
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find what you're looking for in the UR Library catalog? Use the box below to search in WorldCat. You can request it from another library by clicking the "Request Item" button.