It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core collection of titles from the Oxford series of reference books
Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.; Full-text; Varies by title, 2002 - present
Provides full search capabilities of the most recent McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
Includes all definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, news articles from Science News, research updates from the Yearbook of Science and Technology, and biographies from Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Full-text; Most recent edition
Introduces the exciting field of future studies, spanning social, cultural, and environmental innovations, as well as technological advances. It asks if the future can ever be truly predicted or if we create our own futures by our thoughts, feelings, and action
This volume of Very Short Introductions examines science fiction in film and literature and compares the two media and also looks at examples of drama and poetry. It examines the way changes in science and technology have affected human perception and behaviour and how this has been reflected in science fiction.
Provides access to academic and professional publications on computer theory and systems, new technologies, engineering disciplines, and social & professional context of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
If We Don't Have What You Need
Boatwright Library will obtain items not owned by campus libraries for current UR faculty, students and staff. If you're unsure if the item is available on campus, you can check using the UR Library Catalog. Boatwright Library uses ILLiad to facilitate ILL requests.