Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

RHCS 490: Mapping Power/Empowering Maps: Writing and Citing

Citing Maps in Chicago Style

Footnotes in Chicago take a bit of practice, but are relatively easy.  Below are examples of how to cite maps in your notes and the bibliography.

ONLINE MAP CITING

Footnote Formating

Note #. Author First Name Last Name/Corporate Author. Map Title. (City: Publisher [often the same as the corporate author], Year published). Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.

Example:

1. War Map Publishing Company. Strategic Map of Our War with Spain. (Trenton, NJ: War Map Publishing Company, 1898). Accessed January 14, 2014. http://www.loc.gov/resource/g3701s.ct000302/.

Bibliography Formating

Author Last Name, First Name/Corporate Author. Map Title. City: Publisher [often the same as the corporate author], Year published. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.

Example:

War Map Publishing Company. Strategic Map of Our War with Spain. Trenton, NJ: War Map Publishing Company, 1898. Accessed January 14, 2014. http://www.loc.gov/resource/g3701s.ct000302/.

PAPER MAP CITING

Footnote Formating

Note #. Author First Name Last Name/Corporate Author. Map Title. (City: Publisher [often the same as the corporate author], Year published).

Example:

2. Central Intelligence Agency. United States Foreign Service Posts and Department of State Jurisdictions, May 2003. (Washington, D.C.: Central Intelligence Agency, 2003).

Bibliography Formating

Author Last Name, First Name/Corporate Author. Map Title. City: Publisher [often the same as the corporate author], Year published.

Example:

Central Intelligence Agency. United States Foreign Service Posts and Department of State Jurisdictions, May 2003. Washington, D.C.: Central Intelligence Agency, 2003.

MAP FROM AN ATLAS OR BOOK

Footnote Formating

Note #. Author First Name Last Name/Corporate Author. Atlas or Book Title. (City: Publisher [often the same as the corporate author], Year published): page(s), map title/map number/map note.

Example:

3. Amanda Lomazoff and Aaron Ralby. The Atlas of Military History: An Around-The-World Survey of Warfare Through the Ages. (San Diego, CA: Thunder Bay Press, 2012): 277, Map of Vietnam showing the Demilitarized Zone.

Bibliography Formating

Author Last Name, First Name/Corporate Author. Atlas or Book Title. City: Publisher [often the same as the corporate author], Year published: page(s), map number/map title/map note.

Example:

Lomazoff, Amanda and Aaron Ralby. The Atlas of Military History: An Around-The-World Survey of Warfare Through the Ages. San Diego, CA: Thunder Bay Press, 2012: 277, Map of Vietnam showing the Demilitarized Zone.

Chicago/Turabian Quick Citing Examples

  • Turabian Quick Guide - Overview of basic examples from Univ. of Chicago Press website for Turabian 8th edition. Turabian is essentially the same as Chicago, with minor modifications to meet student writing needs.

* * * *

 There are 2 styles to choose from when using Chicago -- you need to ask your professor which style they would like you to use. The main differences between the styles are where the references are placed, where the dates are placed, and how the titles are capitalized.

1. Notes/Bibliography - Humanities: numbered footnotes or endnotes at the bottom of each page, with Bibliography or Works Cited list at the end of the paper, listing alphabetically the sources in your notes. Your professor may not require that you include a separate Works Cited list if all of the information is included in your footnotes -- but you may be asked to provide a bibliography of all sources consulted.

2. Reference List/Parenthetical (in-text citations) - Author/Date: in your text, brief references are listed consisting of the author's last name, publication year, and page(s) referred to, with an alphabetized Reference List at the end of your paper.  The reference list at the end of your paper provides complete entries for works cited in parenthetical references.

Paraphrasing

Citing a source from which you have quoted seems pretty straightforward, but most use of research material involves paraphrasing--putting the other author's text into your own words. Doing this legitimately involves genuine mental effort, first to make sure you really understand what was said and then to accurately represent that meaning without using the words of the original author (with the exception of technical terms). The links below suggest some of the most effective way to make sure you are fulfilling that obligation.

Zotero

ZoteroBib Zotero's quick cite tool.

 

 

Zotero is a free citation management tool that can automatically import citations into your personal account, organize sources into folders, and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. It also includes a word processor plugin for formatting footnotes and parenthetical citations.

Visit www.zotero.org to download the Zotero Firefox extension and to learn more about Zotero.

Online Tutorials from Linked-in Learning


With more than 1,300 courses taught by industry experts—and more added every week—lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever you’re ready to learn. You can even view the resources on your iOS or Android mobile device (via web site or mobile apps).

Current faculty, students, and staff have access to a University subscription of lynda.com resources.  Please click the Access Linked in Learning link.  You will then get a UR login page for lynda.com — use your UR NetID and 16-character password before being redirected to lynda.com's web site.  

Access Linked in Learning

Sample topics: Writing a Research Paper;  Excel 2019 Essential Training; Word 2016 Essential Training; Improving Your Memory; Photoshop CC 2017 One-on-One: Fundamentals; Time Management Fundamentals; Programming Foundations: Fundamentals

Avoid Plagiarism

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.