Maps Related to Current Issues and Events
Many websites related to current events and issues, such as oil pipelines, civil wars, and tourism, include maps. You can find many of them by searching Google Image, but make sure that you always go to the original site that Google is indexing. Many of those maps will also have originated elsewhere, so follow the trail until you are satisfied that you know who created or commissioned the map. A useful overview of the making and interpreting of maps may be found at Joni Seager, "Maps," World History Sources.
Map Resources
"Universalis cosmographia secundum Ptholomaei traditionem et Americi Vespucii alioru[m]que lustrationes [Earth], 1507 by Martin Waldseemuller.
-
UR Library CatalogFind books, atlases and maps in the library's collection.
-
ERCC Daily Maps PortalEach day, ERCC publishes a map of the most important event or events. The maps are archived and available to the public. Great source of current events maps.
-
CIA CartographyDeclassified CIA maps arranged by decade.
-
Historic Cities Maps and DocumentsThis site contains more than 170 maps of cities created between the 15th and 17th centuries.Each image includes basic facts about the city, such as geographic location and political importance, date, cartographer, and publication information
-
American PanoramaAn ongoing project of UR's Digital Scholarship lab.
-
American Memory - Maps CollectionDigitized images of maps and atlases coordinated through the Library of Congress.
-
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection - University of TexasProvides a wide variety of current and historical maps from one of the largest collections in North America.
-
David Rumsey Map CollectionThis collection contains over 53,000 maps and images online; it focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.
-
Gettyburg College Stuckenberg Map Collection"Dr. Stuckenberg had a life long interest in maps, and while living in Germany purchased the majority of his collection, which consists of three 17th century atlases and over 500 map sheets from the 16th through the 19th century. A few of the cartographers represented in the collection are: Willem Janszoon Blaeu (1571-1638), Matthaus Seutter (1678-1756), and Tobias Conrad Lotter (1717-1777). The maps are housed in Special Collections at Musselman Library." From Gettysburg College.
-
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowThis collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos.
-
Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Virginia This link opens in a new windowLarge-scale plans of Virginia cities and towns, created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property
-
The History of Cartography ProjectThe History of Cartography Project is a research, editorial, and publishing venture drawing international attention to the history of maps and mapping. The Project treats maps as cultural artifacts created from prehistory through the twentieth century.
-
Movement Advancement Project (MAP)Maps related to democracy , equality, and public policy, especially as they relate to LGTBQ issues.
-
An Everyday Queer New YorkFrom the website: " These data visualizations, which include the series of interactive maps and eventually, afford another form of interactive, public queer history."
-
RADICAL CARTOGRAPHYLinks to diverse maps and a book you can browse or download (we also have the book, After the Map: Cartography, Navigation, and the Transformation of Territory in the Twentieth Century, in print.)
Humanities Librarian
.jpg)
Cartography on Social Media
-
Topi Tjukanov's TweetsIf you want to pursue this approach to the world, here's some inspiration.
-
#mapsJust a twitter search for links to the most recent maps contributed. You can often follow the links to more from that person.
