LibGuides: FYS 100: Crime & Punishment in Russian Fiction and Film (Brandenberger): Library Search Activity

Library Search Activity

Locate 1 scholarly source (book or journal article) about the book Crime and Punishment or about the author Fyodor Dostoevsky's body of work (note there are multiple transliterations of his name - Dostoyevsky, Dostoevskii, etc.). Brainstorm a few search terms on relevant themes or topics (morality, criminality, Russian literature, film, names of book characters, etc) and try to combine them in the same search. You can use Google Scholar or Onesearch, but you must also try searching in a library database (Jstor, MLA International Bibliography, Project Muse, Academic Search Complete, FIAF etc.).

Answer the following:

What database(s) did you use to find your articles?
What search terms/key words did you use?
Did you use filters in your search (publication timeframe, peer-reviewed articles, formats, and specific subjects)?
How can you tell these are scholarly articles/books? Note the authors' credentials, journal publisher, and any professional organization or society affiliated with the journal.
How else might you evaluate the relevance of the book or article to your topic?

Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal literature

Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics

Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, and folklore from all regions of the world from the late Middle Ages to the present.

Covers books, articles, and dissertations. Best place to start for language and literature research.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.

This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes the content of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.

The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.; Citations, abstracts, and some full-text; Years: 1972 - present

Boatwright Memorial Library

FYS 100: Crime & Punishment in Russian Fiction and Film (Brandenberger): Library Search Activity

Library Search Activity

Library Databases