LibGuides: FYS 100 (30) Crime &amp; Punishment in Russian Fiction and Film (Brandenberger): Finding Books, Articles, &amp; More

Where to Start Searching:

OneSearch is the library catalog, there you can search almost everything in the library at once- books, media, news sources, scholarly journals, and more.

Library databases are smaller collections of scholarly articles, news sources, images, media and more, which may be organized thematically on different topics.

Search Tips:

When searching for an author's name there may be several transliterations (Dostoevsky vs Dostoevskii) from Russian
Search under official Library of Congress subject headings for different authors or topics
- Dostoyevsky, Fyodor
- Russian Literature
Decide what types of resources you are looking for (books, chapters, scholarly articles, news, etc.) and use the appropriate filters
Limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed work if desired using the filters

If you can't find an article or book you need, check out our service called interlibrary loan - we can request materials from other libraries if we don't have them at UR.

Find Scholarly Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal literature
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, and folklore from all regions of the world from the late Middle Ages to the present.
Covers books, articles, and dissertations. Best place to start for language and literature research.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities.
Citations, abstracts, and full-text; 1990s - present; some coverage back to 1960s
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search these databases at once: Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, and the Gale Literature Criticism.

News Sources

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Resource covering national & international newspapers
National & international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; Varies by title, 1980s - present
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full web access to The New York Times and NYT Archive from 1851-present. For the date range 1923-1980, users are limited to 5 accesses per day. In order to access NYT content, UR students, faculty, and staff must redeem a code which will provide them with 26 weeks of uninterrupted access to NYTimes.com.
Click on NYT-Activation Link to redeem a 26-week pass.
- Login using your UR NetID and password.
- Click the button to "Redeem a 26-week pass to the New York Times website."
- Click Redeem.
- Complete registration fields.
- Click Create Account. -- You must use a @richmond.edu email address to create an account.
Note: If you have a current paid New York Times subscription, you will have to call 800-698-8437 and cancel your paid subscription, prior to registering for NYTimes.com through the university.

Websites

Dostoevsky Studies
The journal of the International Dostoevsky Society (IDS)
Bloggers Karamazov
The official blog of The North American Dostoevsky Society
Dostoevsky Now
Resources and conversations on Dostoevsky from the University of Leeds