Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

WGSS 279: Feminist and Queer Theories (Skerrett): Library Resources

Getting started

  • OneSearch, the library's catalog, will search ALL of the library's resources including books, movies, scholarly journals, periodicals and more.
  • Google Scholar - a resource for both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. If you are on campus, you will find links to scholarly articles in our databases.
  • Library reference sources & encyclopedias - find background information to help you get started.
  • Interlibrary loan - If Boatwright doesn't have it, you can request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
  • Look at the library's research guides on different topics including sociology, literature, history, and more.
  • Check out all the research databases in the library.

Remember- feminist theory is interdisciplinary as a field of inquiry, so develop a search strategy by looking in databases that cover numerous subjects. Databases covering women, gender, and sexuality studies, philosophy, and more broadly the humanities may offer relevant articles, reference sources, and more.

Reference sources like Sage and Oxford encyclopedias are good for finding background information- if you want "just the facts". Look there for short biographies about your theorists or the concepts they defined.

Then, search for scholarly articles in databases like Jstor, Academic Search Complete, Gender Watch, etc. to find articles by the theorists and about their work.

Interdisciplinary & Humanities Databases

Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Databases

Philosophy Databases

Encyclopedias & Reference Sources

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.