FYS 100: Cops, Crime, & Popular Culture (Maurantonio): Finding Books, Articles, & More

Full-text; Varies by title

This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present

Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.

Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present

The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.; Citations, abstracts, and some full-text; Years: 1972 - present

Click on NYT-Activation Link to redeem a 26-week pass.

• Click Redeem
• Complete registration fields
• Click Create Account -- You must use a @richmond.edu email address to create an account.

If you have already registered for NYTimes.com access via the on campus link, login to the offsite access link and pull a 26-week pass. You will have uninterrupted access for this timeframe. (Note: If you have a current paid New York Times subscription, you will have to call 800-698-8437 and cancel your paid subscription, prior to registering for NYTimes.com on or offsite access through the university.)

The Post offers real-time Q&A discussions on key stories and live-streaming of Washington Post events with top-level government and business leaders as well as emerging voices and news-makers.

National & international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; Varies by title, 1980s - present

Full-text; 30 days ago - present

Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily

Excellent resource for illustrations, copyright free for educational use. Can search by concept (hostages) as well as specific people or events (Einstein).; Photographs, prints, graphics, audio and text; Coverage back to the 1800s, primary coverage late 20th century-present

Support and technical requirements for using Swank can be found here.

A collection of thousands of films from leading distributers and producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC, Media Education Foundation, Great Courses, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, Documentary Education Resources. Covers a vast array of subject areas in sociology, anthropology, the humanities, the arts, womens studies, LGBT studies, business, math, sciences and more. Tools are available to share and create custom clips and playlists, and the platform includes searchable transcripts, and captions. Includes public performance rights for screenings on campus.