Economic History Resources
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in all fields of economics, including the American Economic Association journals, working papers, and many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance. (EBSCO)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
Genealogy & Census Resources
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowConduct genealogical research through this database. Most content is from the United States and the UK and includes census, vital, church, court, and immigration records. Note: The "Library Edition" does not contain all of the content found in a personal Ancestry.com subscription. (ProQuest)
- US Census: HistoryDecennial census records are confidential for 72 years. Records prior to and including 1940 are now available.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration, health, crime, and more. Each are placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. (Cambridge)
Richmond and Virginia Newspapers
The current Richmond Time-Dispatch newspaper was formed in 1903 from the merger of two papers - The Times and The Dispatch. These newspapers went through multiple title changes post-Civil War. Listed below are each of those titles and what is available online:
|
Richmond Dispatch (1884-1903)
|
The Times (1890-1903)
|
|
The Daily Dispatch (1850-1884)
|
The Daily Times (1886-1889)
|
|
Richmond Planet (1883-1938)**
|
The Library of Congress has digitized many other Virginia newspapers on their website.
**Of note is the Richmond Planet, which was founded by 13 former slaves and first published in 1882. By 1904, it had reached a weekly circulation of 4,200 and gained a reputation as a staunch defender of the African-American community and a voice against racial injustice - "daring to hurl thunderbolts of truth into the ranks of the wicked...No stronger race man is known among us." (Description on Chronicling America site, information provided by Library of Virginia).
American Historical News Sources
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including African American newspapers and women's suffrage newspapers. (Accessible Archives)
- Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from historical newspapers published between 1770-1963. Only some newspapers have been digitized and are available online. For others, you can find details on what newspapers were published where in the U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-present. (Library of Congress)
- Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles published in the US from the colonial period through Reconstruction. This collection was a gift of Edwin S. Snead III, class of 1951. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 5 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- OpinionArchives This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles from a variety of popular magazines and newspapers, including American Spectator, Commonweal, Dissent, The New Leader, The Progressive, LaFollette's Magazine, The Weekly Standard, Moment, Washington Monthly, Orion, Americas Quarterly, and the Washington Examiner. (OpinionArchives)
- Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2011. (ProQuest)
- Washington Post Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the Washington Post from 1877-2006. (ProQuest)
British Historical News Sources
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of British newspapers and pamphlets gathered by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817), which helps chart the development of the newspaper from published transcripts to coffee house newsbooks to the newspaper as we know it today. (Gale)
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain (1800-1900). Note: UR has access to parts I and II of this database. (Gale)
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of The Economist. Find editorials, news, and commentary that offer insight into British, European, American, and world affairs. (Gale)
- Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2021) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of Financial Times. (Gale)
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from this fully-illustrated weekly British newspaper. It covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, science and medicine, social history, sports, transportation, and travel. (Gale)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
