It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For a student of rhetoric, primary sources are texts of any kind, not just verbal, but visual, and physical--any medium, in short, in which the structure that manifests ideas or information carries a message of its own. Thus the resources listed below will lead you to many types of texts, from printed and video news reports to works of art to social media.
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
Documents relating to the role of women in movements throughout American history
More than 48,000 pages pertaining to women and social movements, in addition to dictionaries, chronologies, and teaching tools.; Full-text documents, reviews, and discussion tools; 1600 - 2000; Includes the Women's Commission reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present.
Traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights, focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century.
Provides an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for womens rights grew in the United States and England.
A collection from the Imperial War Museum (London) that includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars.
Comprehensive collection offering a wide range of writings on the subject of witchcraft
Full-text; 1500 - 1930; Additional Information: Included are many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches, in both original manuscript and in print. Numerous dissertations and limited printed works examining theological, legal, social implications of witchcraft are reproduced in their entirety. The majority of texts are in Latin, English and German, although there are also selected items in French, Italian, Portuguese, Danish, Dutch and Spanish.
Current and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from the Associated Press on a continuous basis, including AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports.
Full-text of major newspapers with separate resources for environment, government, statistics, and legal information
Online access to current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world. Full-text of legal materials (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Congressional information back to 1789.; Full-text; Varies by title; 1980 - present
Provides comprehensive city, regional and state news, primarily for Richmond, Virginia, from 1903 to present.
Special attention is given to Virginia's tobacco and agriculture industries, as well as numerous large companies such as the CSX Corporation, Bank of Virginia and James River Corporation. Richmond's employment base extends from chemical, food and tobacco manufacturing to biotechnology, semiconductors and high-tech fibers.
Photos and images from The Associated Press and its partner companies.
Excellent resource for illustrations, copyright free for educational use. Can search by concept (hostages) as well as specific people or events (Einstein).; Photographs, prints, graphics, audio and text; Coverage back to the 1800s, primary coverage late 20th century-present