LibGuides: FYS 100 (29): Rhetoric and Gender Violence: Resources for Researching and Analyzing Gender and Rhetoric

Encyclopedias & Reference Sources of Women/Gender

SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies This link opens in a new window
Focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World This link opens in a new window
Covers the full array of contemporary women's issues in the arts, media, business, health and many other areas.

Full-text; 2011
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History This link opens in a new window
Covers the role women have played throughout world history.

Full-text; 2008
Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook This link opens in a new window
Provides an authoritative reference resource on leadership issues specific to women and gender

Full-text; 2010
Encyclopedia of Motherhood This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of the topic of motherhood in many and diverse disciplines, such as anthropology, sociology, psychology and philosophy.

Full-text; 2010
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media This link opens in a new window
Critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.

Full-text; 2012
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Builds upon the pioneering work of biblically focused gender theorists to help guide and encourage further gendered discussions of the Bible.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender This link opens in a new window
Looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level.

Best Resources for Finding Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Thorough resource for research in the media studies and communication studies fields.

Full-text; Varies by title
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.

This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, and folklore from all regions of the world from the late Middle Ages to the present.

Covers books, articles, and dissertations. Best place to start for language and literature research.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index of core disciplines in women's studies

Feminist research in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education; Indexing and abstracting with some full-text; 1972 - present
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
Collection of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspectives.; Full-text; 1970 - present
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Resource covering national & international newspapers

National & international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; Varies by title, 1980s - present
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.

Silva Rhetoricae
A primer of rhetoric covering the branches of oratory, rhetorical terminology, rhetorical pedagogy and much more.
Virtual Salt: A Handbook of Rhetorical Devices
Definitions and examples of more than sixty traditional rhetorical devices, (including rhetorical tropes and rhetorical figures).

Useful Journals

Rhetoric & Public Affairs
This journal covers the theory, critiques and history of public discourse.
Philosophy & Rhetoric
This journal focuses on the intersection between philosophy and rhetoric, including articles on historical figures and their use and philosophy regarding rhetoric.
Journal of Contemporary Rhetoric
Publishes theoretically based analyses that explore the rhetorical workings of current affairs.
Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society
Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society is a peer-reviewed, blind-refereed, online journal dedicated to exploring contemporary social, cultural, political and economic issues through a rhetorical lens.

General Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Searchable text of the 22-volume OED

Comprehensive etymological dictionary of the English language; searchable by date, source, meaning, part of speech, cited author or work, etc.; Full-text; 2005 (continuously updated)

The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms by Christine Ammer
ISBN: 0547677537
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English by Tom Dalzell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203895139
Publication Date: 2008-07-25

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (2nd Ed.) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and authoritative reference encyclopedia on all aspects of language and linguistics.

Full-text; 2006
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Core collection of titles from the Oxford series of reference books

Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.; Full-text; Varies by title, 2002 - present